- $7 per hour
- 1/2 Day(4 hours) rental $20
- Full Day (4-7 hours) rental $25
- 24-hr rental $35
- 2 Day rental $50
- 3 Day rental $75
- 4 Day rental $100
- please inquire for other rental periods
- This all includes a sweet-looking head-turning bike with a comfy seat, a basket, a lock, a helmet and a bunch of ideas about what to do and where to go.
Rental Terms (standard and not the most fun to read, but you do need to know):
You have to read and sign a waiver before you can ride.
We need a license and a credit card to make sure you are a real person
The lock we give you is good, it must be used.
Renters must be 18 years of age or older.
If you are younger than 18, your rad, bike loving, adult guardian must be accompanying you. If you are younger than 14, because of our insurance, we can’t rent you a bike. We can tell you amusing anecdotes of trouble that can be found by children in our city.
The renters are responsible for all the stuff you rent from us, if its lost or damaged, there will be additional charges…so let’s be careful out there. If something breaks or gets lost, let us know, please, so we can make sure the problem is taken care of.
Rental equipment is due back on the date/time agreed upon by A Bicycle Named Desire and the rider(s).
Customers must inform A Bicycle Named Desire if the equipment is damaged or is not working properly.
Customers must comply with all traffic laws, follow the safety guidelines as explained.
A Bicycle Named Desire does retain the right to refuse service to anyone at any time.
You could have assumed most of this, we know, but it makes our moms happy when we act responsible by putting this on the website.
HOW TO LOCK YOUR RIDE
Lock to the frame, lock anytime you are physically removing your bum from the bicycle seat, lock it at night (even if you have it behind a locked gate!)
Road Rules in Louisiana
We want you to enjoy your rides through Louisiana, but first and foremost, we want you to be safe! Please follow these guidelines and all other normal rules of the road.
- If you are taking a helmet, always wear your helmet. Be sure it covers your forehead and fits properly.
- Ride on the right. Always ride with traffic.
- Look and signal before turning. Cars will not always understand the signals but they will be grateful of some notification of what you are planning. It’s also good to get eye contact with drivers, if possible.
- Use hand signals to warn other cyclists and vehicles of your intentions: arm straight out for left turn, arm straight up for right turn, and arm straight down for stop; also, warn cyclists if you are passing left.
- Take great care with left-hand turns. If necessary, get off the road and then make your turn when you are sure it’s safe to do so.
- The weather in Louisiana is usually hot and humid. Drink fluids, keep your water bottle filled and, if possible, carry an extra bottle of water.
- Ride single-file if you are riding with a group.
- If you stop, get completely off the road.
- Don’t follow too closely. Most accidents on rides occur when cyclists run into other cyclists. Keep at least one bike length between riders.
- Obey all traffic laws. Stop at stop signs and lights, and obey one-way streets.
- Ride defensively. Always be aware of other riders, vehicles and pedestrians. Never assume you know what they are going to do.
- Do not ride before daylight or after dusk unless you have proper lights on your bike.
- Ride in a predictable manner. Ride in a straight line. Don’t swerve between parked cars.